Honey making, my well-being therapy

Honey making, my well-being therapy

Some of you may already know that we are beekeepers in my family and we make honey.

We’ve been doing it ever since I can remember, actually it goes back a few generations.

bees.jpg

I grew up surrounded by bees and I was never scared of them, because they are beautiful, hardworking insects and we are not as important to them as they are to us, and they don’t have time to waste with us. They sting only if their life or their queen is endangered. If a bee come close to you, please, don’t try to kill it! It will just fly around you looking for some juicy pollen, and when it will realise you are a tasteless, boring human being, it will just leave. Bees dramatically decreased in populations in the past few years, but we desperately need bees on our beautiful planet.

bees2.jpg

The process of making honey is fascinating, if you don’t mind a bunch of bees buzzing around you constantly. I know it has became fashionable lately, because of the increased awareness of people toward organic, local food. I love spending Sundays with my family making honey, getting my hands sticky and just breathing that heavenly perfume. I find it relaxing.

My dad is finally retiring now and he will have more time to dedicate to beekeeping, so I am helping him with social network and just letting all our friends know about this small family business đŸ™‚

The smell of honey reminds me of home.

Happy Monday!

xx

Gloria

Leave a Reply

