Get what you want

Get what you want

coffee.jpg

Photo credit

I finally booked the flights to London. I’m leaving tomorrow and my heart gets heavy just thinking about it.

No more lake, mountains, dinners with friends, beautiful landscapes, evening walks with my dad, but grey and tasteless surroundings.

Sometimes I wish my other half was Italian, so we could both decide to go back “home”. We’ve been speaking about relocating to Italy, and he seems to be ok with it, provided we find decent jobs of course, but I am worried. What if one day he decides he too wants to go home? His home is so far away, it’s on the other side of the world! What if he doesn’t feel at “home” in Italy? I know, I know….”what if” is not a game to play, ever!

We were thinking of spending sometime in Lisbon before moving to Italy and who knows, maybe I will fall in love so much with the city and the country that I will be more relaxed and will not need “home” as much as I do now. I think London is the wrong city form me. I lived in Prague before and it was amazing, I loved everything of the city. The only problem I had was with the people. I have some amazing Czech friends who I cherish and love very much, but there is no denial in saying that Czechs are pretty cold, compared to Italians at least. So, this Lisbon thing…I am willing to try, Lisbon is a beautiful place, I’ve been there twice and really liked it. It’s a cultural city, it’s multi ethnic, young, and it has the ocean. Coffee in Portugal is good. It’s the only place in Europe, outside Italy, where I had decent coffee.

To explain the title of my post: I am feeling a bit low about having to go to London, so I decided to make a plan and work hard to get to my aim which is: MOVING OUT OF LONDON. It could seem easy, but it isn’t. Not when you are 32 and have a baby boy to look after. It’s not as easy as it was for me to move to London, when I was 26, freshly graduated, but this is what I want. I want the sun for at least 200 days a year, I want fruit that tastes like fruit. I want good coffee that doesn’t cost a fortune.

frutta2.jpg

Photo credit

Now I have to go pack my very heavy luggage and then I have to start planning my plan.

Wish me luck!

xx

Gloria

Leave a Reply

